take or sponsor programs for the training of persons in the professions and skills involved in the operation of museums; arrange for or provide professional and technical services to other organizations whose purposes are similar to any of those of the coproration on such terms and conditions as may be approved by the Minister; and generally to do and authorize such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the purposes of the corporation and the exercise of its powers.

National Parole Board. The National Parole Board was established in January 1959 by the Parole Act (RSC 1970, c.P-2), which gives it absolute authority for parole of inmates under sentence of imprisonment imposed under an Act of Parliament or for criminal contempt of court. Under the Act the Board has jurisdiction over all matters of federal parole except sentences for murder. In such cases eligibility is possible after a stipulated time between 10 and 20 years has been served; consent for eligibility and for release on parole must come from the Governor in Council. The Board is composed of a chairman and eight other members appointed by Order in Council for 10 years. There are also 10 ad hoc members appointed for terms of up to five years. The Board reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General of Canada.

National Research Council of Canada. This is an agency of the federal government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The Council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors associate committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. The federal government has designated NRC as the co-ordinating body for the further development of a national scientific and technical information system under the general direction of the National Librarian. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in International Scientific Unions. Patentable inventions developed in the Council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited. The National Research Council consists of a president, three vice-presidents and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. The Council is incorporated under the National Research Council Act (RSC 1970, c.N-14) and reports to Parliament through a designated Minister, at present the President of the Treasury Board.

**New Brunswick Multiplex Corporation**. This Corporation was established under the terms of a formal agreement between the federal and provincial governments on February 2, 1971. The object of the Corporation is to develop preliminary plans for the creation of a metal-working industrial complex centred in Saint John, NB. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion.

Northern Canada Power Commission. The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 (RSC 1970, c.N-21) to provide power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the Act was amended in 1950 to give the Commission authority to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission (formerly the Northwest Territories Power Commission) was changed in 1956. It is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Northern Transportation Company Limited. This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly-owned subsidiary of Eldorado Nuclear Limited since that Crown company was established. It carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed and the western Arctic and operates a wholly-owned subsidiary trucking company with operations in Alberta and the Northwest Territories. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Office of the Auditor General. This Office originated in 1878 and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other organizations. The Minister of Finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the Auditor General.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer. This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1970, c.14, 1st Supp.), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible directly to the House of Commons, the President of the Privy Council acting as spokesman for him in the Cabinet.

Office of the Representation Commissioner. The Office was established in 1963 under the provisions of the Representation Commissioner Act (RSC 1970, c.R-6). After each decennial census, the Representation Commissioner is responsible for preparing maps showing the distribution of population in each province